Smallgood Hearth: On my Mind: Aging & Dying

We’ve got to talk about death.  Yet, death is a topic that most people don’t want to talk about.  Earlier in our dating years, Bigbad thought it a bit taboo when my family brought up the conversation at the dinner table.  My family has always been rather upfront about the topic.  Now, I get the impression Bigbad isn’t as shocked or alarmed when the discussions come about.  They are always handled tactfully and with great love.

The entirety of grief is painful, and so perhaps we collectively prefer to postpone those emotions until they are absolutely necessary.  I get that, but I also suspect that delaying the emotional process allows it to become a devastating chasm of suffering.

via Smallgood Hearth: On my Mind: Aging & Dying.

