The Call of the WILD

Key Question: But without a direct experience of nature how can I truly understand my own nature?

expressions of an intimate ecology

(a case for ecopsychology)

Shall I go to the park today?

No! I will stay at home and look at the animals and trees, the mountains and oceans on the television. I shall live my life through a radioactive light-emitting screen, remaining at a safe distance at all times. I have done too much damage already.

But without a direct experience of nature how can I truly understand my own nature? Without fully experiencing the power of nature in all its sublime and mischievous mystery and cruel and terrifying glory, how will I ever understand the damage I have done or am really capable of? And how may I learn to take the steps to act more responsibly?

As an integral expression of nature it is my birthright to participate and to express my own nature, for good or ill, within the world. Nature does not judge me for the changes I make…

View original post 547 more words

